State of Utah
Personal Income Tax Extensions
File Only a State Tax
$5.95 for a State Tax Extension PDFFile Your State Tax Extension Now!
eFile Your Personal Federal
IRS Form 4868 - $29.95
Your State Extension PDF is FREE
Utah has announced that the tax filing deadline for individual returns is May 17th.
Utah Filing Due Date: UT individual income tax returns are due by April 15 — or by the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of the taxable year (for fiscal year filers).
Extended Deadline with Utah Tax Extension: Utah offers a 6-month extension, which moves the individual filing deadline from April 15 to October 15 (for calendar year filers).
Utah Tax Extension Form: The Utah tax extension is automatic. That means there is no official application or written request to submit as long as you owe zero state tax. Utah’s extension form, Form TC-546, should only be used if you need to make an extension payment for your Utah income tax. Do not use Form TC-546 if you have no Utah tax liability or if you’re due a Utah tax refund.
Utah Extension Payment Requirement: A tax extension gives you extra time to file. It does not give you more time to pay your Utah income tax. All state tax payments are due by the original deadline of the return (i.e. April 15). Any UT tax that hasn’t been paid by the proper due date will be subject to interest and penalties. To obtain a Utah extension, you must fulfill one of the following prepayment requirements (by the original April 15 deadline):
• Pay 90% of your current Utah tax balance, or
• Pay 100% of your Utah tax liability for the previous year
You can make a Utah extension payment with Form TC-546, or pay electronically through Utah’s Taxpayer Access Point (TAP): tap.tax.utah.gov/TaxExpress